2018 Civility Awards: Recap & Recipients

The morning after the midterm elections, approximately 100 people filled the Greenlease Library at Rockhurst University for the annual Consensus Civility Awards.

The 2018 award winners included John Couture of Bier Station; Rachel Gonzalez, a young Missouri student activist; Damon Daniel of the Ad Hoc Group Against Crime; Sunayana Dumala with Forever Welcome; and Rosilyn Temple of KC Mothers in Charge. Nick Haines of KCPT moderated the event. Each honoree was notable for the way they reflected values such as respect, integrity, engagement, inclusiveness, objectivity, and the desire to find common ground.

This year’s event also included passing the Consensus torch from former director Jen Wilding to our new director Heidi Holliday after Jen’s departure for the Federal Reserve Bank earlier this fall.